Indian-ness

As the national anthem was being played among the chaos and noise at Rajpath on the 20th January 2017, I promised myself to watch the live telecast of the Republic Day parade at home. As much as I wanted to extend my stay in the capital, I had to return home to get back to my post grad course at SPICE. At home every year, my mother would insist that my sister and I would watch the parade, which I did halfheartedly to please her, but this year was different and special.

whatsapp-image-2017-01-28-at-7-03-31-pm

On my short but eventful trip to Delhi- the capital of India, I was a witness and privy to the rehearsals for this iconic day. The school children performing, the motorcyclist doing their daredevil stunts showcasing their talent and skill amongst many other displays.  The Air Force left us onlookers in awe with their  aerial formations. They were totally in sync & their formations just perfect.

whatsapp-image-2017-01-28-at-7-02-50-pm

whatsapp-image-2017-01-28-at-7-02-50-pm-1All through these years I would watch the telecast on television just because it was
something we always did out of having nothing much to do. But this year as I watched it on TV, I felt a sense of pride not just because I am an Indian, but because India is truly so vibrant & multicultural. The talent and creativity in showcasing the arts and crafts of the different states, the festivals and the flora and fauna, the different departmental floats which focused on their main agenda for the year ahead was remarkable. It was amazing to see the unity in diversity that the citizens of India enjoy and the pride with which they displayed it. The Republic day parade was something I can safely say I really enjoyed viewing this year and am eagerly looking forward to what the next year has in store for me. Hats off to you guys. Jai Hind.

Leave a Reply

